#1 02.07.2012 10:44:55

det0r
Player
Posts: 166

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

You need to generate the diff file that will implement this change. Look at some previous polls by kevin to see how this is done.

Offline

#2 02.07.2012 20:07:58

Lord_P
Player
Posts: 130

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

Why?? If you think you veteran units are important, research the technology for barracks and build them. If you think the cost is too high and better spent on other things, dont.
This is the kind of strategic resource allocation and planning decision that this game is all about. I fail to understand the "Its unfair that all players dont have the same advantages irrespective of the choices they make" argument....

Offline

#3 02.07.2012 21:53:58

mrsynical
Player
Posts: 171

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

A barrack costs 30 shields and requires no techs. Why don't you just build a barrack in your capital? It will probably take 3-4 turns and then you are set ... Nobody should be close enough to attack you in the first ~10+ turns. Then you can use that advantage against people that have no desire to build barracks...

Offline

#4 03.07.2012 01:04:58

det0r
Player
Posts: 166

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

mrsynical - barracks requires Warrior Code with the current ruleset

Lord_P - people will still be able to go for a Barracks (veteran units are important, there's no 'think' about it) to build V units in other cities, what this will do is allow people to build a small number of V units from their capital during early game. I think it is a good idea if we are going to keep Warrior Code as a requirement of Barracks.

Offline

#5 03.07.2012 05:17:28

kevin551
Player
Posts: 287

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

Ltex2.3b is already 2 months old. Why are we talking about this here. It would make more sense to debate this in the thread for the next game.

Offline

#6 04.07.2012 00:25:50

det0r
Player
Posts: 166

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

kevin551 wrote:

Ltex2.3b is already 2 months old. Why are we talking about this here. It would make more sense to debate this in the thread for the next game.

Because eX is the (experimental) game for testing new settings? We've changed settings mid-game in the past...

Offline

#7 04.07.2012 05:31:01

mrsynical
Player
Posts: 171

Re: Poll: palace_as_barracks

Booo. There goes the rush for v horses :-)

det0r wrote:

mrsynical - barracks requires Warrior Code with the current ruleset

Lord_P - people will still be able to go for a Barracks (veteran units are important, there's no 'think' about it) to build V units in other cities, what this will do is allow people to build a small number of V units from their capital during early game. I think it is a good idea if we are going to keep Warrior Code as a requirement of Barracks.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB