#1 20.09.2017 12:30:07

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,105

The citymindist for SG1?

It means the distance between cities. With value 1 the new cities can be in the next tile to the old ones. With value 3 there must be 2 tiles between the cities.

The city work area will be 3 tiles meaning roughly a bit less than 50 workable tiles. There is no problem with work tiles overlapping. In that case the cities will just "fight" with size to grab the tiles.

For previous LT games citymindist has been 4 or 5. This time we are probably setting it to 2 but we could also use some other value like 1 or 3 if that's what people would like to have.

Opinions?

Offline

#2 20.09.2017 12:50:29

Caedo
Player
From: Germany
Posts: 34

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

Well, I'm a staunch largepoxer, so I'm always in favor of more rather than less. I'd even go with 4 or 5, but if that's not on the table, 3 would be the way to go.

Offline

#3 20.09.2017 13:25:32

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,105

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

The map is already populated with cities when the game starts. The citymindist is needed mostly for situations where an oled city is destroyed and the players want to build a new city or cities to replace it.

If you like largepoxing, LT40 might be something you enjoy. There the citymindist will be 6 and the cities will be able to get even larger work area compared to previous games. The area is 7*7 tiles in the start but will grow to 9*9 once the game proceeds. Should be interesting. (edit: you already signed on it, coo!)

Now when I think about it, the map for SG1 will be revealed from the start. It could have been hidden but because of the test games we need to make sure all is ok, it's probably best to set revealmap=START

Once we have the players positioned on the map we can start the first test game. It's not required for the players to take a look at it. However to make sure all is working, it's highly recommended that as many players as possible connect to the test setup. Details about that will be released as soon as possible.

Offline

#4 20.09.2017 13:40:31

Sketlux
Player
From: Germany
Posts: 80

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

Hm, I dont like the idea of revealing the map. Can I not put unreachable tiles around everyone location for testing reasons and then use the the map without unreach...? So everyone would be able to see his locations test around his city but not be able to explore and we could still see if something is missing/not working?

Offline

#5 20.09.2017 18:10:02

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,105

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

Using unreachables might work but removing them would alter the setup. Also, it would make it harder to test the game setup since encountering other nations is something we want to check. LT32 workerd well even while the map was known beforehand. Yeah, it takes away exploring but at least for the first game this is probably the only way to make sure we can make proper tests.

I've edited the players to the game. Let's see how to do the rest of the stuff.

Offline

#6 20.09.2017 18:40:21

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,105

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

New stuff to me... How do I set the rulesetdir for a scenario game? Just with the SG1.serv? Not with the savefile?

Offline

#7 20.09.2017 20:03:35

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,105

Re: The citymindist for SG1?

ok, I'm apparently blind when looking at the ruleset file smile

rulesetdir fixed, SG1 ruleset starts ok at the test.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB