#1 14.01.2018 14:55:33

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,592

Colony cities?

In the past it has been really nice and lots fun to have some distant colony cities. This kind of cities however have lots of corruption and they usually are hard to maintain. In the real world cities like Hong Kong have been far away from the empire capital and without considerably higher corruption compared to the home.

What about if it would be possible to have one or two colony cities? Adding more government centers might be too much but maybe with some other kind of way for doing this?

Might also help smaller nations who find suitable land for settling but land that's really far away. Whatever making this possible, would only affect one or two cites and not the cities around that one or two cities.

Offline

#2 14.01.2018 16:40:50

Corbeau
Player
Posts: 822

Re: Colony cities?

I'm all for it.

What are standard corruption rates anyway? And what reduces corruption? Only Courthouse or is there something else?

Offline

#3 14.01.2018 16:41:36

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,592

Re: Colony cities?

Maybe with 2 of these the other one could be one that gets obsoleted.The one getting obsoleted could become available with philosophy and getting obsoleted maybe with combustion or some other tech roughly from the same era.

There was also this idea about the palace making it possible to grow the city beyond size 8 and even beyond size 16. This would make the game more fair to those player who get less fortunate starting locations.

Getting few more special cities is also kind of realistic. Back in the days some cities were granted privileges on trade or on some other stuff. Making this possible would let the players to have some options in choosing the strategic cities. Currently there are just few special ones in a regular game. The one one with the place is the most common one. With the LT rulesets there is is also the 2ns palace and few cities with the small wonders. Most of the time it makes sense to put the small wonders on one city. Then again it might be interesting if there would be a reason to have maybe 3-4 more special cities instead of just 1-2.

Offline

#4 14.01.2018 16:47:09

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,592

Re: Colony cities?

I'm not sure about the standard corruption rates. Do you mean ones based on distance or some other stuff? The govs obviously have different corruption settings and the palace and the 2nd palace affect those as government centers. The court house halves the corruption and waste. I'm not sure if it can be done but the idea would be to make those new cities ones that would act like they were government centers but without affecting the other cities close to them.

Maybe this could be done with small wonders working as court houses but as ones that would reduce corruption and waste more than 50%. Maybe 90% or however it would be if the city was the capital city. To differentiate from the actual capital these cities could be incited, assuming the government used allows that.

Offline

#5 14.01.2018 17:05:36

Corbeau
Player
Posts: 822

Re: Colony cities?

wieder wrote:

Maybe with 2 of these the other one could be one that gets obsoleted.The one getting obsoleted could become available with philosophy and getting obsoleted maybe with combustion or some other tech roughly from the same era.

I'm not sure what you mean by this.

About limits to city size, actually, when I think aobut it, Aquaduct is a clumsy way to limit this. It's just an artificial rule to prevent a city from becoming "too big". But there are other mechanisms, more natural: plague and waste Maybe think of something along these lines.

About colonial far-away cities, maybe have an improvement: "Governor's palace", that is a regular improvement, not unique, that reduces waste by a lot, but is expensive to build (at least 100 shields, maybe even 200) and maintain (at least 10 gold, probably more).

Offline

#6 14.01.2018 17:24:45

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,592

Re: Colony cities?

By that I mean that there could be two "Governor's palace" type of buildings. One of them would be a permanent one that would not get obsoleted. The other one would be obsoleted. This would let the player to make decisions about where to place the one that will get obsoleted and where to place one that will not lose the ability to reduce corruption and waste.

The civ2civ3 ruleset was designed to use plague to "encourage" the players to build sewers before size 16 but obviously the effect is not powerful enough. No problem with getting to size 16 without sewers. I see the problem with hard limits and yeah, it might make sense to try to at least partially remove those by focusing on plague and attempts on getting rid of that.

Offline

#7 14.01.2018 21:04:13

Corbeau
Player
Posts: 822

Re: Colony cities?

Yeah, there were far more plagues in history than there are in Civ smile

Offline

#8 20.01.2018 12:44:47

wieder
Administrator
Posts: 1,592

Re: Colony cities?

And just after saying that half of my cities faced plague smile Well not half but it felt like that smile

The plague might actually be more of a threat and it could be avoided in smaller steps compared to what we have now. One step is medicine. The others are for example aqueducts and sewers. We might have few more steps with techs. No buildings needed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB